Gaming System of Choice

Hi, hi! Welcome to day 11 of the video game challenge! Today’s challenge is gaming system of choice.

Now, I’m sure if you’ve been following theses posts you can probably already guess what I’m going to say. SNES!

I started gaming on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System when I was about 3 or 4. The first game I played was Super Mario World. After that, I’m pretty sure we collected SNES games because we had so many. Honestly, I still own most of them to this day. I played all sorts of games on the SNES, RPGs like: Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI(Final Fantasy III on the NA SNES), Illusion of Gaia, Lufia II, Secret of Evermore, Final Fantasy Mystic Quest. Fighting games such as: World Heroes 2, Mortal Kombat II, Street Fighter II, ClayFighter, ClayFighter 2: Judgment Clay, Double Dragon V: The Shadow Falls, Killer Instinct, Shaq Fu, Doomsday Warrior. Action-Adventure games like: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Goof-Troop, Demon’s Quest, The Addams Family, Kirby Superstar, Equinox. There were a bunch!

I grew up playing the SNES. We later had an N64, PS1, PS2 and XBox and I eventually played quite a few games on those, but we didn’t get those until later. Playing games on the SNES helped me learn to read as well as helped me with some eye problems that I had when I was younger. I had to have one eye covered while I used the other eye to read and the way I did this was I would play RPGs.

One of the things I really enjoy about the SNES is that even though there are classic games that I love so much and would play over and over for the story, there are also so many quirky, unique games that I will still sit down and play for nostalgic reasons as well as to just have some simple fun. Most games these days have too much going on for me to actually use them to relax.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love new game consoles as well. I’ve currently been playing my PS Vita like crazy. I also enjoy quite a few games on the PS3 and PS4 as well. However, the SNES was a huge part of my childhood and I will always be willing to plug it in and play almost any game for it. Some were complicated and were a challenge, some had great stories, some were brilliant fighting games for the time, and some were just silly!

There are some games now that have been released on the New 3DS as well as the Wii and WiiU virtual consoles and I think that’s fantastic! I really hope to see more of these games released digitally because sadly, I know those cartridges won’t last forever.

What is your gaming system of choice?
1
Video Game Challenge:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10

 

8 thoughts on “Gaming System of Choice

  1. Pingback: A Game Everyone Should Play | Doki-Doki Otaku

  2. Pingback: A Game I’ve Played More Than 5 Times | Doki-Doki Otaku

  3. Pingback: Current or Most Recent Video Game Wallpaper | Doki-Doki Otaku

  4. Pingback: Screenshot From Current Game I’m Playing | Doki-Doki Otaku

  5. Pingback: Game With The Best Cutscenes | Doki-Doki Otaku

  6. Pingback: Favorite Antagonist | Doki-Doki Otaku

  7. Pingback: Favorite Protagonist | Doki-Doki Otaku

  8. Pingback: Favorite Genre | Doki-Doki Otaku

Leave a Reply

