Favorite Game of All Time

Hi, hi! Welcome to day 30 of the video game challenge! This is the last one! Today’s challenge is ‘favorite game of all time’.

Okay. So, my favorite game of all time, I’ve written a review of as well as mentioned it quite a few times throughout this challenge and that’s Chrono Trigger, so I’ll talk about the other 4 in my top 5 list.

These are in no particular order. I have a very difficult time ranking my favorite things in a way that would state that I prefer one more than the other, especially with games. If they are different genres I’m going to enjoy them in different ways.

One of them would be Harvest Moon 64, developed by Victor Interactive software and published by Natsume, which I’ve also mentioned a couple of times in this challenge on days 5 and and 13. I first played this game when my aunt let us borrow her Nintendo 64 because my cousins were grounded for some reason or another. I fell in love with it immediately. It was so simple to play, the music was great, and it was the first simulation type game that I had ever played so I was amazed at being able to really make choices that would affect the game.

Another would be SoulCalibur developed by Project Soul and published by Bandai Namco Games. I enjoyed II and III equally. I really enjoyed II overall and the Chronicles of the Sword mode in III. The Chronicles of the Sword mode is a one player mode in which the player makes a custom character and then the player will have troops that fight the enemies and attempt to take over their strongholds. I really enjoyed these games because I like to sit down and play a good fighting game once in awhile.

42777301_p0.png

Talim Source

After that I would say The Lost Vikings for SNES. The Lost Vikings was developed by Silicon & Synapse which is now Blizzard Entertainment and published by Interplay Entertainment in 1992 and Blizzard Entertainment for the Game Boy Advance in 2003. This is a puzzle-platformer game, and in all honesty, it’s completely silly but it’s also a bit challenging until you get used to it. You start off as 3 vikings that are kidnapped by an emperor of an alien empire for a zoo. I had a lot of fun with this one because of how crazy and absurd the story is.

You control 3 different characters, one at a time but each one has a special ability. Erik can run fast enough to break walls with his helmet and jump, Baleog uses a sword and bow which can be helpful when a switch needs to be hit from a distance, and Olaf uses a shield that can block projectiles and the shield can also be used to glide or for Erik to step onto to reach higher areas.

Finally, Parasite Eve. Parasite Eve was developed by Square for the PS1. It is an action-rpg survival horror game. It is a sequel of the book Parasite Eve by Hideaki Sena and has 2 sequels, Parasite Eve II and The Third Birthday.

53868939_p0

Aya Brea Source

Aya Brea is a police officer in New York City. While she is attending an opera everyone in attendance spontaneously combusts except for Aya and one actress. When confronted, the actress explains that Aya has mitochondria that needs more time to develop. After the actress runs off, Aya chases her. The actress then turns into a monster and escapes. Aya must defeat this monster before it creates an ultimate being that will destroy humankind. This one was fascinating to play because the story was complex and scientific which I haven’t seen in many games, and man was that final boss a insane!

Well, that’s it! That’s the end of my video game challenge! I hope you enjoyed it. I plan to play many more games this year and may do a different video game challenge in the future! The rest of the posts can be found here. Don’t forget to check out my facebook page too where we post all sorts of fun anime and gaming related pictures. ^_^

 

 

Leave a comment